MAFF logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is MAFF?

TL;DR
  • MAFF means Master Analyst in Financial Forensics, issued by NACVA with certification decisions overseen by the Litigation Forensics Board.
  • The exam has 400 multiple-choice questions over five hours, closed book, across eight weighted domains.
  • Foundations carries 20%; five specialties carry 12% each; Bankruptcy and Digital Forensics carry 10% each.
  • Passing candidates can finish the advanced requirement later under MAFF Candidate Status, within three years.

What MAFF Actually Means

MAFF stands for Master Analyst in Financial Forensics. It is a professional credential for practitioners who quantify financial questions that end up in disputes: damages, valuation conflicts, fraud, divorce, insolvency and digital evidence. If you have searched for definitions such as what MAFF stands for or what MAFF certification is, the short answer is that it signals competence in applying accounting and valuation methods to litigation and investigative work.

The acronym is shared by several unrelated credentials and organizations, so it is worth being precise. Everything in this article concerns the Master Analyst in Financial Forensics designation and nothing else. For a quick companion read on the term itself, see MAFF meaning.

Why the distinction matters: A search for "MAFF" can return material about entirely different programs, with different fees, exam lengths and prerequisites. If a source does not mention NACVA, financial forensics or litigation work, it is not describing this credential.

Who Issues It and Who Decides

The credential is issued by the National Association of Certified Valuators and Analysts (NACVA). Certification decisions are overseen by the Litigation Forensics Board (LFB). The LFB matters for candidates in practical ways: it approves education equivalents, evaluates documented experience, and applies a criterion-referenced passing standard to the exam.

NACVA publishes the official exam content outline, titled The Core Body of Knowledge for Master Analyst in Financial Forensics (MAFF), revised September 5, 2023. It is a 12-page public document, and it is the authoritative source for what can appear on the test. Paid study materials from any vendor, including NACVA's own, do not replace it.

What the Credential Covers

The blueprint is organized in two parts. Part I is a single foundations domain. Part II consists of seven specialty areas. The weights below are the official examination headings, and they sum to 100%.

DomainPartWeight
Foundations of Financial ForensicsPart I20%
Commercial and Personal DamagesPart II12%
Business and Intellectual Property DamagesPart II12%
Business Valuation in LitigationPart II12%
MatrimonialPart II12%
Business Fraud and DeterrencePart II12%
Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and RestructuringPart II10%
Digital ForensicsPart II10%

These percentages describe how the exam is built, not how you should divide your study hours. A topic that is only 10% of the exam may still deserve extra time if it is unfamiliar to you. For a section-by-section walkthrough, read the complete guide to all eight MAFF content areas.

Foundations of Financial Forensics (20%)

The largest single domain and the logic that underpins every specialty. Expect questions on the role and responsibilities of the forensic analyst, how engagements are structured, and how analysis connects to legal process.

  • Because it is the heaviest domain, weakness here costs more than weakness in any one specialty.
  • Concepts introduced here recur inside the specialty domains, so mastery compounds.

Commercial and Personal Damages, and Business and Intellectual Property Damages (12% each)

Two separate domains on measuring economic loss. One addresses commercial and personal harm; the other addresses harm to businesses and intellectual property.

  • Expect to reason about what loss means in a given scenario and how an analyst frames it.
  • Keep the two domains distinct when studying; the exam headings treat them separately.

Business Valuation in Litigation (12%)

Valuation work performed for disputes rather than transactions. Candidates who come from a valuation background will find this familiar, but the litigation setting changes the questions that matter.

Matrimonial (12%)

Financial analysis in divorce and family-law contexts, where the analyst typically deals with closely held business interests, income and property questions.

Business Fraud and Deterrence (12%)

Identifying, investigating and deterring fraud in organizations. The "deterrence" half of the heading signals that prevention and controls are in scope, not only detection after the fact.

Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring (10%) and Digital Forensics (10%)

The two lighter-weighted specialties. One covers financial distress and its resolution; the other covers electronic evidence and how it supports financial analysis.

  • Digital Forensics is often the least familiar domain for accountants and valuators, so budget time accordingly.

How the Exam Works

The exam consists of 400 multiple-choice questions delivered over five testing hours. The handbook does not disclose how many of those questions are scored versus unscored, and adaptive delivery is not stated. That works out to a little under a minute per question if you use the full time, which makes pacing a genuine skill rather than a footnote.

Delivery and Testing Rules

  • Delivery: Kryterion provides test-center and live remote-proctored delivery. NACVA also permits computer or paper administrations in specified settings.
  • Closed book: A simple non-programmable calculator, one blank scratch sheet and a writing implement are permitted.
  • Remote requirements: Government photo ID, an external webcam, a private room, a room scan, and live monitoring and recording.
  • Breaks: One restroom break of up to five minutes is allowed, and the exam timer keeps running.
Plan for endurance: Five hours with a single five-minute break, and no pause in the clock, is a stamina test as much as a knowledge test. Practice in long sessions before test day so that the later questions are not answered on fumes.

Results, Scoring and Retakes

The LFB uses a criterion-referenced passing standard, and no numeric cut score is published. Results normally arrive in one to two weeks. Candidates may attempt the exam at most three times per year and no more than once per month, and a retest fee applies. The retest amount was not verified for this article. For more on how scoring is described, see what is known about the MAFF passing score.

After your application is approved, or after you complete optional NACVA training, you have two months to sit the exam. Paid monthly extensions are available for up to ten additional months. If you are planning a calendar, the MAFF exam dates and scheduling guide covers the practical side.

Eligibility: Three Separate Gates

MAFF eligibility is easy to misread because it has distinct layers. Basic education and basic experience must be met before you sit. The advanced requirement can, in some cases, be finished afterward. The full detail lives in the MAFF requirements guide; the structure is below.

Gate 1: Basic Education

You need one of the following:

  • An accredited business-focused bachelor's degree or higher.
  • An LFB-approved equivalent.
  • A specified military or federal alternative: MOS 35L/351L, GS-1811, or FLETC CITP.

Military evidence must show one year per 1,000 required hours. Government applicants generally need GS-12 or comparable status, or a supervisor-supported approved exception.

Gate 2: Basic Experience

You need at least 2,000 hours of relevant knowledge gained through education, publishing, research, teaching and/or work. Alternatively, an approved active financial or accounting credential satisfies this gate, such as CPA, CVA, CFE, CFF or CFA.

Gate 3: Advanced Eligibility

You must show one of these:

  • At least 50 hours of applicable FFBOK training.
  • NACVA's named five-day Foundations course.
  • 20 qualifying financial-forensics matters.
  • 2,000 business-valuation hours, including 500 in relevant specialties.

A qualifying matter involves substantial services as the lead professional, typically at least 40 hours and a report. References are also required: two business plus two professional, reduced to two total when an additional qualifying financial credential is documented.

Key Takeaway

If you pass the exam but have not yet met the advanced requirement, MAFF Candidate Status gives you up to three years to complete it. You must use the MAFF Candidate designation and comply with recertification in the meantime. Fail to document the requirement within three years and the entitlement to the full designation ends.

No CVA-style case-study requirement applies to MAFF, even though the two credentials share a candidate handbook.

Fees and Costs You Can Verify

The published numbers are specific, but a complete total for every candidate is not fully established, so treat this as a set of known line items rather than a single price. The full MAFF certification cost breakdown expands on each.

ItemAmountNotes
Standalone examUSD 625No separate member and nonmember exam rates listed
Designation applicationUSD 100One-time; requires CV or resume and eligibility evidence
Practitioner membershipUSD 599 per 12 monthsOptional, but active status needs dues or a nonmember administration fee
Nonmember MAFF designee feeUSD 499 annuallyFrom an undated chart; current effective date unverified
RecertificationUSD 400 per three-year cycleSeparate from annual credential or membership fees
Avoid double-counting: A separately mentioned nonmember enrollment fee has no independently verified amount, and its relationship to the USD 100 application fee is unclear. Do not add a guessed figure to your budget; confirm directly with NACVA before you pay.

Optional Preparation Costs

  • Foundations of Financial Forensics Training Center: a five-day, 45-CPE-hour program plus exam, at USD 3,523 for members or USD 3,915 for nonmembers before early-registration discounts. It is an explicit alternative to the general 50-hour training route. The 45 CPE hours should not be described as 50 course hours.
  • Self-study packages: USD 1,499 for training only, or USD 2,599 for the full package. Only the full package includes the MAFF exam and the Q&A guide.
  • MAFF Exam Q&A Study Guide: USD 495, electronic, with no CPE awarded. Product descriptions conflict on whether it holds roughly 1,600 or 1,700 practice questions; neither number reflects the length of the actual exam.

Because the paid course and guide contents were not reviewed for this article, the official public blueprint remains your reference point for scope. Our own MAFF study guide shows how to build a plan around it.

Outcomes and Difficulty in Context

NACVA's FAQ publishes annual counts of examinees and passers:

YearPassed / ExamineesCalculated Rate
202519 of 2190.5%
202417 of 1989.5%
202322 of 2588.0%
202215 of 2075.0%

These percentages are calculated from the published counts; they are not published first-attempt rates, and no 2026 outcome or attempt breakdown is provided. The same FAQ page says about 20% fail on average, without defining the averaging period, and it reports 421 MAFFs as of 2025.

Read small cohorts carefully: With roughly 20 examinees a year, one or two additional failures would shift the percentage noticeably. Also remember that candidates must already meet education and experience gates before sitting, so the test-taking population is self-selected. More analysis appears in our MAFF pass rate review and the difficulty guide.

Keeping the Credential Active

Earning MAFF is not the end of the financial commitment. Current recertification requires:

  • 60 applicable CPE hours per three-year cycle.
  • An attestation (attestation rules apply from 2025 onward).
  • A USD 400 fee per cycle, due December 31.

The first cycle begins with the first full calendar year after certification. Completing 15 to 29 hours of NACVA courses offsets USD 200 of the fee; completing at least 30 hours offsets the full USD 400. Annual credential or membership fees remain separate. Keep supporting records for three years after the reporting cycle, because compliance is subject to audit.

The former bonus-point and recommended-course program ended December 31, 2025, and older descriptions that mention 36 hours are not current. Inactive-status rules are published separately on NACVA's site.

Where MAFF Fits in Practice

The domains point to the kinds of work the credential supports: damages quantification, valuation in disputes, divorce-related financial analysis, fraud investigation, bankruptcy and restructuring matters, and electronic evidence. The eligibility paths also hint at the typical candidate pool, which includes CPAs, valuators, fraud examiners, and people from federal investigative roles such as GS-1811 criminal investigators.

No employer list or compensation data is supplied in the source material, so this article does not claim specific hiring figures. If you are weighing the career side, the MAFF jobs overview, the salary guide, and the ROI analysis take that question further, and the MAFF certification page gives a broader summary.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain

This is the one place where scheduling advice is warranted, and it follows directly from the blueprint. Start with Foundations because it is the largest domain and its concepts recur across the specialties. Then place the unfamiliar specialties early enough to revisit them. A sample arrangement:

Week 1

Foundations (20%)

  • Read the public blueprint end to end.
  • Work through the Foundations section first.
Weeks 2-3

Damages and Valuation (36% combined)

  • Commercial and Personal Damages.
  • Business and Intellectual Property Damages.
  • Business Valuation in Litigation.
Weeks 4-5

Matrimonial and Fraud (24% combined)

  • Matrimonial.
  • Business Fraud and Deterrence.
Week 6

Bankruptcy and Digital Forensics (20% combined)

  • Give extra time to whichever you know least.
Final stretch

Mixed practice

  • Simulate long sessions to build five-hour stamina.
  • Review weak domains and use a one-page recap such as the MAFF cheat sheet.

Adjust the pacing to your background. A valuator can compress the valuation weeks; a CPA with no digital-evidence exposure should expand the final week. You can also test your readiness with the MAFF practice tests, and the MAFF training overview compares the formal course routes. When you are ready to drill questions, head back to the main practice test site.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does MAFF stand for?

MAFF stands for Master Analyst in Financial Forensics. It is issued by the National Association of Certified Valuators and Analysts (NACVA), with certification decisions overseen by the Litigation Forensics Board. See also What Is MAFF? and What Is a MAFF? for related explanations.

How many questions are on the MAFF exam?

The exam has 400 multiple-choice questions with five testing hours. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed, and the format is closed book.

Can I sit for the exam before finishing every eligibility requirement?

Basic education and basic experience must be met before sitting. Candidates who pass but lack the advanced requirement can use MAFF Candidate Status, which allows up to three years to complete it, subject to recertification compliance.

How much does the MAFF exam cost?

The standalone exam is listed at USD 625, with a one-time USD 100 application fee. Membership, nonmember designee fees and retest fees are separate, and a complete current nonmember total is not established. Confirm with NACVA before budgeting.

How do I maintain the credential?

Complete 60 applicable CPE hours per three-year cycle, submit an attestation and pay a USD 400 fee by December 31 of the reporting year. NACVA coursework of 15 to 29 hours offsets USD 200, and 30 or more hours offsets the full fee.

Ready to pass your MAFF exam?

Put this into practice with free MAFF questions across every exam domain.