MAFF logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

MAFF Certification

TL;DR
  • MAFF means Master Analyst in Financial Forensics, issued through NACVA with decisions overseen by the Litigation Forensics Board.
  • The exam has 400 multiple-choice questions over five hours, closed book, across eight weighted domains.
  • Foundations carries 20%; five specialties carry 12% each; Bankruptcy and Digital Forensics carry 10% each.
  • Standalone exam fee is USD 625, plus a one-time USD 100 application fee.

What the MAFF Credential Actually Is

The MAFF certification is the Master Analyst in Financial Forensics designation. It signals that a professional can apply financial analysis to disputes: quantifying damages, valuing businesses in litigation, tracing fraud, working matrimonial financial issues, and supporting bankruptcy or insolvency matters. It also covers the digital side of those investigations.

If you are still orienting yourself on the terminology, our explainers on what MAFF is, what MAFF stands for, and what MAFF certification is cover the basics. This article goes deeper into how the credential works in practice: who certifies you, how you qualify, what the exam looks like, and what it costs to keep the designation.

Naming caution: The acronym MAFF is shared by several unrelated credentials and organizations. Everything on this page concerns only the Master Analyst in Financial Forensics designation, so make sure any fee, date, or requirement you rely on comes from the NACVA materials for this credential.

Who Issues It and Who Decides

The credential is issued by the National Association of Certified Valuators and Analysts (NACVA). Certification decisions are overseen by the Litigation Forensics Board (LFB), which also sets the criterion-referenced passing standard. Criterion-referenced means your result is measured against a defined competence standard rather than against other test takers. NACVA does not publish a numeric cut score, so any claim you see online about an exact required percentage is not grounded in the issuer's public materials. We unpack this further in our MAFF passing score guide.

The official content source is The Core Body of Knowledge for Master Analyst in Financial Forensics (MAFF), revised September 5, 2023. Administrative rules come from the CVA and MAFF Candidate Handbook dated June 2026. Treat these as two separate documents with two separate dates: the blueprint tells you what is tested, and the handbook tells you how testing works.

Two Layers of Eligibility

MAFF eligibility is easiest to understand as two layers. The basic layer must be satisfied before you can sit for the exam. The advanced layer can, under certain conditions, be completed after you pass. For the full walkthrough, see our MAFF requirements article; here is the structure.

Basic requirements (needed before testing)

Basic Education

You need one of the following:

  • An accredited business-focused bachelor's degree or higher
  • An LFB-approved equivalent
  • A specified military or federal alternative: MOS 35L/351L, GS-1811, or FLETC CITP

Military evidence must show one year per 1,000 required hours. Government applicants generally need GS-12 or comparable status, or a supervisor-supported approved exception.

Basic Experience

You need either:

  • At least 2,000 hours of relevant knowledge gained through education, publishing, research, teaching, and/or work, or
  • An approved active financial or accounting credential, such as CPA, CVA, CFE, CFF, or CFA

Advanced requirements (can be completed after passing)

Advanced eligibility is satisfied by any one of these paths:

  • At least 50 hours of applicable training in the Financial Forensics Body of Knowledge (FFBOK)
  • NACVA's named five-day Foundations course
  • 20 qualifying financial-forensics matters
  • 2,000 business-valuation hours, including 500 in relevant specialties

A qualifying matter involves substantial services as a lead professional, typically at least 40 hours and a report. References are two business plus two professional, reduced to two total when you document an additional qualifying financial credential.

MAFF Candidate status: If you pass but have not yet met the advanced requirement, you may use MAFF Candidate status for up to three years while you complete it. You must comply with recertification during that time. If you fail to document the requirement within three years, your designation entitlement ends. Unlike the CVA, MAFF does not impose case-study requirements.

Exam Format and Delivery Rules

The exam is a single, long sitting: 400 multiple-choice questions in five testing hours. NACVA does not disclose how many of those items are scored versus unscored, and adaptive delivery is not stated, so plan for a fixed-form experience. That works out to well under a minute per question, so pacing matters as much as knowledge. Our difficulty guide discusses what that stamina demand feels like.

ItemMAFF Rule
Questions400 multiple choice
TimeFive testing hours
Book policyClosed book
Permitted itemsSimple non-programmable calculator, one blank scratch sheet, writing implement
DeliveryKryterion test centers and live remote proctoring; NACVA also permits computer or paper administration in specified settings
BreakOne restroom break of up to five minutes; the timer keeps running
ResultsNormally one to two weeks
RetakesMaximum three attempts per year, no more than one per month; retest fee applies (amount unverified)

Remote proctoring requirements

If you test from home or office, expect to present a government photo ID, use an external webcam, test in a private room, complete a room scan, and accept live monitoring and recording. Rehearse the setup in advance so technical friction does not eat into a five-hour window.

Your testing window

Candidates have two months after application approval, or after completing optional NACVA training, to sit for the exam. Paid monthly extensions are available for up to ten additional months. For scheduling logistics, see MAFF exam dates.

The Eight-Domain Blueprint

The Core Body of Knowledge organizes the exam into Part I (Foundations) and Part II (seven specialty areas). The weights below are official examination objectives and total 100%. They are not study-time allocations, but they do tell you how many questions to expect from each area on a 400-question form, assuming the blueprint percentages are applied proportionally. A deeper breakdown lives in our MAFF exam domains guide.

DomainWeight
Part I: Foundations of Financial Forensics20%
Part II: Commercial and Personal Damages12%
Part II: Business and Intellectual Property Damages12%
Part II: Business Valuation in Litigation12%
Part II: Matrimonial12%
Part II: Business Fraud and Deterrence12%
Part II: Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring10%
Part II: Digital Forensics10%

Foundations of Financial Forensics (20%)

The largest single domain and the one every specialty depends on. Expect the framework of the profession: the role of the financial expert in the legal process, the standards under which expert work is judged, and the way engagements are scoped and documented.

  • Treat this as the shared vocabulary for all seven specialties
  • Because it is the heaviest domain, weak performance here is hard to offset elsewhere

Commercial and Personal Damages (12%)

Measuring economic loss in commercial disputes and in personal injury, wrongful death, or employment contexts.

  • Distinguish the damages concept being measured from the method used to measure it
  • Be ready for questions on causation, mitigation, and discounting

Business and Intellectual Property Damages (12%)

Loss of profits, business interruption, and the valuation and damages issues unique to intangible assets and infringement.

  • Pay attention to how lost profits differ from lost value
  • Intangible-asset questions reward careful reading of the facts given

Business Valuation in Litigation (12%)

Valuation approaches as applied in disputes, where standards of value and court expectations shape the analysis.

  • Candidates from a valuation background should not assume this domain is automatic; litigation context changes the questions

Matrimonial (12%)

Financial analysis in divorce: marital property, business interests, income determination, and lifestyle analysis.

  • Candidates without family-law exposure should invest extra time here

Business Fraud and Deterrence (12%)

Detecting, investigating, and deterring fraud, including the controls and indicators that bear on both.

  • CFE holders will recognize much of the terrain, but the exam frames it through the forensic-accountant lens

Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring (10%)

Financial analysis in distressed situations, including solvency questions and the work experts perform in insolvency proceedings.

Digital Forensics (10%)

How electronic evidence is identified, preserved, and analyzed in financial investigations.

  • Accountants without a technical background often find this the least intuitive domain, even at 10%

Fees and Money Mechanics

The cost picture has several separate pieces, and the issuer's public pages do not add up to one tidy total. Our MAFF certification cost breakdown goes line by line; the verified building blocks are:

ItemAmountNotes
Standalone examUSD 625No separate member/nonmember exam rates listed
Application feeUSD 100One-time; requires CV/resume and eligibility evidence
Practitioner membershipUSD 599 per 12 monthsMembership is optional
Nonmember MAFF designee feeUSD 499 annuallyFrom an undated reinstatement chart; current effective date unverified
RecertificationUSD 400 per three-year cycleSeparate from annual credential/membership fees
Do not double-count: NACVA mentions a nonmember enrollment fee whose amount and relationship to the USD 100 application fee are not independently verified. Likewise, a complete current nonmember fee total is not established by the public pages. Confirm directly with NACVA before budgeting, and avoid adding figures from different pages on the assumption they stack.

Active status requires either annual membership dues or the nonmember credential administration fee, so factor the ongoing cost into your decision. Our ROI analysis weighs these recurring costs against career benefit.

What the Published Results Show

NACVA's MAFF FAQ page publishes annual pass counts. The percentages below are calculated from those counts; they are not published first-attempt rates.

YearPassed / ExamineesCalculated Rate
202519 of 2190.5%
202417 of 1989.5%
202322 of 2588.0%
202215 of 2075.0%

Read these carefully. The cohorts are tiny, so a swing of one or two candidates moves the percentage substantially. The same FAQ says about 20% fail on average, without defining the averaging period, and no 2026 outcome or attempt breakdown is provided. The page also reports 421 MAFFs as of 2025, which tells you this is a small, specialized community rather than a mass-market credential. For more context, see our MAFF pass rate analysis.

One practical inference: candidates are self-selected. Because eligibility requires degrees, experience, and often substantial prior training, the people sitting the exam have already cleared a high bar. That likely explains part of the favorable numbers, so do not read them as a sign you can skip preparation on a 400-question exam.

Official Prep Paths and Their Limits

NACVA sells several preparation options. None is mandatory, and the public blueprint remains the authoritative statement of what is tested.

OptionPriceWhat to know
Foundations of Financial Forensics Training CenterUSD 3,523 member / USD 3,915 nonmember (before early-registration discounts)Five-day program, 45 CPE hours, exam included; satisfies the advanced requirement as a named course
Self-Study, training onlyUSD 1,499Does not include the exam
Self-Study, full packageUSD 2,599Includes the exam and Q&A guide; CPE requires completing the applicable self-study exams
MAFF Exam Q&A Study GuideUSD 495Electronic; no CPE; product descriptions cite roughly 1,600 or 1,700 practice questions
Careful with the numbers: The Foundations course is 45 CPE hours. That is different from the general 50-hour training route, even though the five-day course is accepted as an explicit alternative. Also, the practice-question count in the study guide describes the guide, not the length of the real exam, which is 400 questions. A USD 400 first-year Practitioner membership add-on exists only with a qualifying Foundations package and does not replace the standard USD 599 rate.

We have not reviewed the paid course or guide contents, so we cannot vouch for their quality; use the public blueprint to check that any resource covers all eight domains. For a structured approach, our MAFF study guide, MAFF training overview, and cheat sheet can supplement what you buy, and you can pressure-test your recall with the MAFF practice tests on our main site.

Scheduling Study by Domain Weight

The blueprint's weights suggest an order of attack. Foundations is both the heaviest domain and the conceptual base for the others, so front-load it. Then sequence the specialties by how unfamiliar they are to you, not by their identical 12% weights. Here is one illustrative eight-week arrangement; stretch it if your testing window allows.

Weeks 1-2

Foundations (20%)

  • Build the shared vocabulary of expert engagements
  • Work practice items until Foundations feels automatic
Weeks 3-4

Damages and Valuation (three 12% domains)

  • Commercial and Personal Damages, Business and IP Damages, Business Valuation in Litigation
  • These domains share quantitative logic, so study them back to back
Weeks 5-6

Matrimonial and Fraud (two 12% domains)

  • Spend the extra hours on whichever you have less field exposure to
Week 7

Bankruptcy and Digital Forensics (10% each)

  • Give Digital Forensics extra time if you lack a technical background
Week 8

Full-length simulation

  • Sit a long timed block to build five-hour stamina
  • Review misses by domain and revisit the weakest

Key Takeaway

Because the exam is closed book with only a simple calculator, conceptual fluency beats lookup skills. Practice recognizing which method or concept a question is testing, then answering quickly. At 400 questions in five hours, hesitation is the biggest hidden cost.

After You Pass: Status, Recertification, Careers

Keeping the designation

Recertification runs in three-year cycles. You need 60 applicable CPE hours, an attestation, and a USD 400 fee, due December 31. The first cycle begins with the first full calendar year after certification. Completing 15 to 29 hours of NACVA courses offsets USD 200, and 30 or more hours offsets the full USD 400. Keep supporting records for three years after the reporting cycle, because compliance is subject to audit. Attestation rules apply from 2025 onward; the former bonus-point and recommended-course program ended December 31, 2025, so ignore older 36-hour descriptions. Inactive-status rules are published separately by NACVA.

Where the credential fits professionally

MAFF holders typically work where finance meets disputes: forensic accounting and valuation practices, litigation support and expert-witness firms, and independent consulting. The credential also pairs naturally with an existing CPA, CVA, CFE, CFF, or CFA, which can both satisfy the basic experience requirement and reduce the reference burden. See our pages on MAFF jobs and the MAFF salary guide for qualitative career context; we avoid quoting specific pay figures that the issuer does not publish.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who issues the MAFF certification?

NACVA issues it, with certification decisions overseen by the Litigation Forensics Board. The Litigation Forensics Board also sets the criterion-referenced passing standard, and no numeric cut score is published.

How long is the MAFF exam?

It has 400 multiple-choice questions and five testing hours. It is closed book, with a simple non-programmable calculator, one blank scratch sheet, and a writing implement permitted. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.

Can I take the exam before meeting every eligibility requirement?

Basic education and experience must be met before you sit. If you pass but lack the advanced requirement, MAFF Candidate status gives you up to three years to document it, while you comply with recertification. Missing that deadline ends your designation entitlement.

How many times can I retake it?

You may attempt the exam at most three times per year and no more than once per month. A retest fee applies, though the amount is unverified. See MAFF exam dates for window and extension details.

What does it cost to stay certified?

Recertification is USD 400 per three-year cycle plus 60 CPE hours, partly offset by NACVA courses. Annual membership or a nonmember credential fee is separate, so budget for both. Review the full cost breakdown before committing.

The MAFF certification rewards candidates who combine real-world experience with disciplined coverage of all eight domains. Use the official blueprint as your checklist, confirm current fees and policies with NACVA, and build your readiness with timed practice on the MAFF Exam Prep practice platform.

Ready to pass your MAFF exam?

Put this into practice with free MAFF questions across every exam domain.