- What NACVA Has Published About MAFF Outcomes
- Reading Small Cohorts Without Overreading Them
- What the Data Does Not Tell You
- How Passing Is Decided
- Why Pass Rates Run High: Eligibility Gating
- The Exam Behind the Numbers
- Where the Points Are: Domain Weights
- The Real Cost of a Miss
- Turning the Data Into a Preparation Plan
- Frequently Asked Questions
- NACVA reports 19 of 21 MAFF examinees passed in 2025, about 90.5%, calculated from published counts.
- Annual cohorts are tiny, 19 to 25 people in recent years, so single-year percentages swing easily.
- No 2026 outcome data and no numeric cut score are published for the MAFF exam.
- The exam is 400 multiple-choice questions in five hours, closed book, with a criterion-referenced standard.
What NACVA Has Published About MAFF Outcomes
Most professional exams hide behind vague statements about "challenging" content. The Master Analyst in Financial Forensics credential is unusual because its issuer, the National Association of Certified Valuators and Analysts (NACVA), publishes actual pass and examinee counts on its MAFF exam FAQ page. That makes this one of the few credentials where you can do real arithmetic instead of guessing.
Here is what the published figures show, with percentages calculated from the counts (NACVA does not publish first-attempt rates):
| Year | Passed | Examinees | Calculated Pass Rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 19 | 21 | 90.5% |
| 2024 | 17 | 19 | 89.5% |
| 2023 | 22 | 25 | 88.0% |
| 2022 | 15 | 20 | 75.0% |
The same FAQ page also states that about 20% fail on average, without defining the averaging period, and reports 421 MAFFs as of 2025. That 20% figure is a general statement and should be kept separate from the individual annual cohorts above. Mixing the two, or treating the average as a forecast for your own sitting, would be a mistake.
For a broader look at how demanding the content is, see our guide on how hard the MAFF exam is. For the canonical version of this topic, our MAFF pass rate page tracks the same published data.
Reading Small Cohorts Without Overreading Them
The single most important statistical fact about MAFF outcomes is not any percentage. It is the denominator. Across the four published years, the number of examinees ranged from 19 to 25. That is a very small sample.
Consider what that means in practice:
- In 2022, 15 of 20 passed. Five people failing moved the rate to 75.0%.
- In 2025, 19 of 21 passed. Two people failing produced 90.5%.
- The gap between those years is a difference of just three failures. One or two candidates changing outcome shifts the percentage by roughly 5 points.
Also note what the numbers are not. They are annual cohort counts, not a per-candidate probability. They do not separate first-time test takers from retakers, and the published percentages are derived by dividing passed by examinees rather than reported by NACVA as official rates.
What the Data Does Not Tell You
Being precise about gaps protects you from bad planning. As of the sources reviewed for this article, the following are not published:
- 2026 results. No 2026 outcome or attempt breakdown is available, so any claim about a "2026 pass rate" would be invented. The most recent verified year is 2025.
- A numeric cut score. There is no published percent-correct or scaled score required to pass. For more on this, see our MAFF passing score page.
- First-attempt versus repeat results. The published counts do not split these groups.
- Domain-level performance. NACVA does not publish which of the eight content areas candidates miss most.
- Scored versus unscored items. The candidate handbook does not disclose how many of the 400 questions are scored.
Any third-party site claiming a precise 2026 pass rate, a numeric cut score, or a domain-by-domain failure breakdown for this credential is not drawing from NACVA's public materials.
How Passing Is Decided
The Litigation Forensics Board (LFB) oversees MAFF certification decisions and uses a criterion-referenced passing standard. In plain terms, you are measured against a defined level of competence, not against how well other candidates performed that day. There is no curve in which a fixed share of examinees must fail.
Two practical implications follow:
- Your result does not depend on your cohort. A strong group does not raise the bar against you, and a weak group does not lower it.
- A high pass rate is plausible. If most prepared candidates meet the competence standard, most pass. That is consistent with the 88% to 90.5% range seen in 2023 through 2025.
Results normally arrive in one to two weeks after testing. Adaptive delivery is not stated in the handbook, so do not assume the exam changes difficulty based on your answers.
Why Pass Rates Run High: Eligibility Gating
A key reason the published outcomes look favorable is that the MAFF pipeline filters candidates before they ever reach the exam. You cannot simply buy a seat and test. Basic education and basic experience must be met before sitting.
Basic Eligibility Before You Can Sit
Candidates must clear education and experience gates, documented through the application.
- Education: an accredited business-focused bachelor's degree or higher, an LFB-approved equivalent, or specified military/federal alternatives (MOS 35L/351L, GS-1811, or FLETC CITP).
- Experience: at least 2,000 hours of relevant knowledge through education, publishing, research, teaching and/or work, or an approved active financial/accounting credential such as CPA, CVA, CFE, CFF or CFA.
- References: two business plus two professional, reduced to two total when an additional qualifying financial credential is documented.
There is also an advanced eligibility layer: at least 50 hours of applicable FFBOK training, OR NACVA's named five-day Foundations course, OR 20 qualifying financial-forensics matters, OR 2,000 business-valuation hours including 500 in relevant specialties. Successful examinees who are missing only this advanced requirement can use MAFF Candidate status, which allows up to three years to complete it. Full details are in our MAFF requirements guide.
The takeaway: the people sitting this exam are working professionals, often already holding the CPA, CVA, CFE, CFF or CFA, who have been screened for experience. A strong pass rate among such a group is not surprising, and it should not be read as evidence the exam is easy.
The Exam Behind the Numbers
Understanding the format explains why even well-qualified candidates can fail. The administration details come from the June 2026 CVA and MAFF Candidate Handbook:
- Length: 400 multiple-choice questions.
- Time: five testing hours, which works out to under a minute per question on average.
- Book policy: closed book. A simple non-programmable calculator, one blank scratch sheet and a writing implement are permitted.
- Delivery: Kryterion supplies test-center and live remote-proctored delivery; NACVA also permits computer or paper administrations in specified settings.
- Remote requirements: government photo ID, an external webcam, a private room, a room scan and live monitoring/recording.
- Breaks: one restroom break of up to five minutes, during which the exam timer keeps running.
Note that CVA case-study requirements do not apply to MAFF. The assessment is the multiple-choice exam itself. For scheduling windows and deadlines, see MAFF exam dates.
Where the Points Are: Domain Weights
The official examination content comes from The Core Body of Knowledge for Master Analyst in Financial Forensics (MAFF), revised September 5, 2023. It organizes the exam into eight weighted sections across Parts I and II, totaling 100%. These are official exam objectives, not preparation allocations.
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| Part I: Foundations of Financial Forensics | 20% |
| Part II: Specialty Areas-Commercial and Personal Damages | 12% |
| Part II: Specialty Areas-Business and Intellectual Property Damages | 12% |
| Part II: Specialty Areas-Business Valuation in Litigation | 12% |
| Part II: Specialty Areas-Matrimonial | 12% |
| Part II: Specialty Areas-Business Fraud and Deterrence | 12% |
| Part II: Specialty Areas-Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring | 10% |
| Part II: Specialty Areas-Digital Forensics | 10% |
Two observations matter for pass-rate interpretation. First, the exam is broad: six of eight domains are litigation specialties, so a candidate whose career is concentrated in, say, matrimonial work must still answer substantial questions on bankruptcy, digital forensics and intellectual property damages. Second, no single specialty dominates. Five of them carry 12% each, so neglecting any one costs real points. Our complete guide to all eight MAFF content areas walks through each section.
Why Breadth Is the Hidden Difficulty
Experienced practitioners tend to be deep in one or two specialties.
- A valuation specialist may be comfortable with Business Valuation in Litigation but rusty on Digital Forensics.
- A fraud examiner may be strong in Business Fraud and Deterrence but thin on Matrimonial.
- With the Foundations domain at 20%, the general framework underlying every specialty is the single biggest block of the exam.
The Real Cost of a Miss
Even with strong published pass rates, you should plan as if a retake is possible, because the policies are firm. MAFF permits at most three attempts per year and no more than one per month. A retest fee applies, though the amount is unverified in the sources reviewed here.
There is also a clock. Candidates have two months after application approval or optional NACVA training completion to sit, and paid monthly extensions are permitted for up to ten additional months. Money paid up front is not trivial:
- The standalone exam is listed at USD 625.
- The designation application adds a one-time USD 100 application fee and requires a CV/resume and eligibility evidence.
- Membership is optional, but active status requires annual dues or a nonmember credential administration fee. Practitioner membership is listed at USD 599 per 12 months, and a USD 499 annual nonmember MAFF designee fee appears on an undated chart whose current effective date is unverified.
Because a complete current nonmember fee total is not established, confirm the numbers with NACVA before budgeting. Our MAFF certification cost breakdown lays out each line item and what remains uncertain. After certification, recertification requires 60 applicable CPE hours, attestation and a USD 400 fee per three-year cycle, so the investment extends well beyond exam day.
Turning the Data Into a Preparation Plan
Since the exam is criterion-referenced and the published rates are healthy, the practical lesson is that preparation, not luck, separates passers from failers. Use the blueprint weights to decide sequencing. A reasonable approach is to start with the heaviest and most foundational content, then rotate through the specialties, saving your weakest specialty for repeated passes.
Foundations of Financial Forensics (20%)
- Cover the framework that every specialty builds on, since it is the largest single domain.
- Take a diagnostic block of closed-book questions to expose timing problems early.
The 12% specialties
- Work through Commercial and Personal Damages, Business and Intellectual Property Damages, Business Valuation in Litigation, Matrimonial, and Business Fraud and Deterrence.
- Spend extra time on whichever one sits outside your daily practice.
The 10% specialties
- Cover Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring and Digital Forensics.
- These carry less weight each, but together they are one-fifth of the exam and are easy to neglect.
Full-length endurance
- Practice long mixed sets under five-hour conditions, with calculator and scratch-sheet limits.
For a fuller structure, including question-handling approaches, see the MAFF study guide, and keep the MAFF cheat sheet nearby for last-day review. If you want realistic timed repetition, our MAFF practice tests are built for exactly this kind of closed-book, high-volume drilling.
Key Takeaway
Do not let a 90.5% headline lull you. It comes from a screened pool of about 20 experienced examinees and reflects a 400-question, five-hour closed-book exam. Treat the breadth across all eight domains as the real challenge, and rehearse the pacing before test day.
Optional paid preparation exists, including NACVA's five-day Foundations course (45 CPE hours, which should not be conflated with 50 course hours) and an electronic Q&A study guide at USD 495 that awards no CPE. Their paid contents were not reviewed for this article, and none of them replaces the free official Body of Knowledge outline. If you are weighing whether the whole investment pays off, read is the MAFF certification worth it and the MAFF salary guide. For more on the tests themselves, try our practice exams to see where you stand.
Frequently Asked Questions
NACVA's FAQ reports 19 of 21 examinees passing in 2025, which calculates to about 90.5%. That percentage is derived from the published counts rather than reported by NACVA as an official or first-attempt rate.
No 2026 outcome or attempt breakdown has been published in the sources reviewed. Any specific 2026 figure you see elsewhere is not backed by NACVA's public data, so rely on the 2022 through 2025 counts instead.
No numeric cut score is published. The Litigation Forensics Board uses a criterion-referenced passing standard, meaning you are measured against a defined competence level rather than against other candidates. See our MAFF passing score article for what is and is not known.
You may attempt it at most three times per year and no more than once per month. A retest fee applies, but the amount is unverified in the reviewed sources, so confirm it with NACVA before scheduling.
The published annual examinee counts were 19 to 25 in 2022 through 2025. The credential is specialized, and candidates must first satisfy education, experience, reference and advanced-eligibility requirements, which keeps the pool small and experienced. The count of 421 MAFFs as of 2025 reflects the same niche scale.