- What "MAFF Training" Actually Means
- Training as an Eligibility Requirement vs. Exam Preparation
- The Official NACVA Training Routes and What They Cost
- Training Mapped to the Eight Exam Domains
- Train for the Format: 400 Questions in Five Hours
- Sequencing Your Training Across the Domains
- Timing Rules That Shape Your Training Window
- After Training: Candidate Status, Recertification, and Careers
- Frequently Asked Questions
- MAFF training serves two purposes: satisfying the advanced eligibility requirement and preparing you for the 400-question, five-hour exam.
- NACVA's five-day Foundations course is 45 CPE hours and is a named alternative to the general 50-hour FFBOK training route.
- Foundations of Financial Forensics carries 20% of the exam; five specialties carry 12% each, and two carry 10% each.
- You have two months after approval or training completion to sit, with paid monthly extensions up to ten more months.
What "MAFF Training" Actually Means
The phrase "MAFF training" gets used for at least three different things, and mixing them up leads to wasted money and missed deadlines. The Master Analyst in Financial Forensics credential is issued by the National Association of Certified Valuators and Analysts (NACVA), with the Litigation Forensics Board (LFB) overseeing certification decisions. Within that ecosystem, "training" can refer to:
- Eligibility training: coursework that counts toward the advanced eligibility requirement for the designation.
- Exam preparation: structured study of the published Core Body of Knowledge and practice questions.
- Ongoing education: the continuing professional education (CPE) you complete after certification to recertify.
This article separates those three so you can decide which you actually need. If you are still orienting yourself on the credential itself, start with What Is MAFF Certification? and then return here to plan your preparation.
Training as an Eligibility Requirement vs. Exam Preparation
The most important distinction in MAFF training is that completing a course is not the same as being prepared for the exam, and passing the exam is not the same as being eligible for the designation. NACVA treats these as separate gates.
Basic requirements (needed before you sit)
Two basic requirements must be met before you can take the exam:
- Basic education: an accredited business-focused bachelor's degree or higher, an LFB-approved equivalent, or specified military or federal alternatives (MOS 35L/351L, GS-1811, or FLETC CITP).
- Basic experience: at least 2,000 hours of relevant knowledge gained through education, publishing, research, teaching and/or work, or an approved active financial or accounting credential such as CPA, CVA, CFE, CFF, or CFA.
Advanced eligibility (where training comes in)
Separately, advanced eligibility is where training becomes a formal requirement. You satisfy it through one of four routes:
- At least 50 hours of applicable FFBOK training, or
- NACVA's named five-day Foundations course, or
- 20 qualifying financial-forensics matters, or
- 2,000 business-valuation hours, including 500 in relevant specialties.
A qualifying matter involves substantial services as lead professional, typically at least 40 hours and a report. If you already have a deep case history or valuation background, you may not need a training course at all to meet this requirement. For the full eligibility picture, see MAFF Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
The Official NACVA Training Routes and What They Cost
NACVA offers several paid options. None replaces the public exam blueprint, but each can serve a different candidate profile. Fees below come from NACVA's published pages; always confirm current pricing before purchasing.
| Option | Format and Scope | Published Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Foundations of Financial Forensics Training Center | Five days, 45 CPE hours, plus exam | USD 3,523 member / USD 3,915 nonmember, before early-registration discounts | Named alternative for the advanced training requirement |
| MAFF Self-Study, training only | Self-paced training | USD 1,499 | Does not include the exam |
| MAFF Self-Study, full package | Self-paced training, exam, and Q&A guide | USD 2,599 | CPE requires completing the applicable self-study exams |
| MAFF Exam Q&A Study Guide | Electronic practice-question guide | USD 495 | No CPE awarded; descriptions cite roughly 1,600 to 1,700 practice questions |
How to read this table
The Foundations course is the premium, structured option and the one NACVA explicitly names as an eligibility alternative. The in-person arrangement carries a 5.5-hour allowance that preserves a five-hour examination limit. A USD 400 first-year Practitioner membership add-on is available only with a qualifying Foundations package, and it does not replace the standard USD 599 annual Practitioner rate.
The self-study route is lower cost but splits into two packages: only the full USD 2,599 version bundles the exam. The Q&A guide is a practice resource, not a course, and its practice-question count should not be confused with the length of the real exam. The contents of the paid guides and courses are not part of NACVA's public outline, so they supplement, rather than replace, the official blueprint. For the full cost picture, including exam and application fees, read MAFF Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Training Mapped to the Eight Exam Domains
The official examination-content source is The Core Body of Knowledge for Master Analyst in Financial Forensics (MAFF), revised September 5, 2023. Its weighted headings define what any good training program should cover. These are official exam objectives, not preparation allocations, so use the weights to prioritize, not to ration your attention. For a deeper walkthrough, see MAFF Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 8 Content Areas.
| Domain | Weight | Training Emphasis |
|---|---|---|
| Part I: Foundations of Financial Forensics | 20% | Core concepts every specialty relies on |
| Part II: Commercial and Personal Damages | 12% | Damages analysis in commercial and personal contexts |
| Part II: Business and Intellectual Property Damages | 12% | Business and IP loss measurement |
| Part II: Business Valuation in Litigation | 12% | Valuation applied in disputes |
| Part II: Matrimonial | 12% | Financial work in divorce and family matters |
| Part II: Business Fraud and Deterrence | 12% | Fraud schemes, detection, and prevention |
| Part II: Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring | 10% | Distressed-entity analysis |
| Part II: Digital Forensics | 10% | Electronic evidence and data |
The weights total 100%. Foundations is the single largest block at 20%, five specialties carry 12% each, and the last two carry 10% each. Note that this eight-section exam outline is distinct from NACVA's separate nine-specialty eligibility and training list; do not substitute one for the other when judging whether a course covers the exam.
Part I: Foundations of Financial Forensics (20%)
Because Foundations carries the heaviest weight and underpins every specialty, training here pays off twice: directly on the exam, and as the vocabulary for the Part II material.
- Treat this as your first block of study, not an introduction to skim.
- Expect concepts here to resurface inside specialty questions.
- This is also the domain most closely aligned with the five-day Foundations course name.
The Five 12% Specialties
Commercial and Personal Damages, Business and Intellectual Property Damages, Business Valuation in Litigation, Matrimonial, and Business Fraud and Deterrence together account for 60% of the exam.
- Damages domains reward comfort with quantifying loss and distinguishing personal from business contexts.
- Business Valuation in Litigation will feel familiar to CVA holders but is framed around dispute settings.
- Matrimonial and Fraud and Deterrence reward practical, matter-based thinking over memorization.
Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring (10%) and Digital Forensics (10%)
These two smaller domains are the most likely to be unfamiliar if your background is valuation or accounting alone.
- At 10% each, together they equal one full domain plus a half-weight block, so neglecting them is costly.
- Digital Forensics is often the biggest gap for candidates from traditional accounting backgrounds.
Train for the Format: 400 Questions in Five Hours
Preparation should mirror the testing conditions. According to the June 2026 CVA and MAFF Candidate Handbook, the MAFF exam has 400 multiple-choice questions with five testing hours. That works out to an average of about 45 seconds per question if you used every minute, which is a pacing reality that should shape how you practice. NACVA does not disclose how many items are scored versus unscored, and adaptive delivery is not stated.
Delivery and rules your practice should respect
- Delivery: Kryterion provides test-center and live remote-proctored delivery; NACVA also permits computer or paper administrations in specified settings.
- Closed book: a simple non-programmable calculator, one blank scratch sheet, and a writing implement are permitted.
- Remote testing: requires government photo ID, an external webcam, a private room, a room scan, and live monitoring and recording.
- Break: one restroom break of up to five minutes, with the exam timer still running.
Because the exam is closed book and the timer keeps running during your single break, endurance training matters. Practicing in long, uninterrupted blocks is far more valuable here than in a shorter exam. A candidate who has only done 50-question quizzes may be surprised by how mentally taxing 400 questions are. For more on how this volume translates to difficulty, see How Hard Is the MAFF Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
Sequencing Your Training Across the Domains
This is the one place where scheduling advice belongs, and it is tied directly to the blueprint. Sequence by dependency and by weight: build the foundation first, cover the high-weight specialties next, and reserve time for the domains most candidates find unfamiliar. The timeline below is illustrative; stretch or compress it to fit your background and any training course you take.
Part I: Foundations of Financial Forensics (20%)
- Work through the full Foundations section of the Core Body of Knowledge.
- Take notes on terminology that recurs in later specialties.
Damages and Valuation Specialties (36% combined)
- Commercial and Personal Damages, Business and Intellectual Property Damages, and Business Valuation in Litigation.
- Practice distinguishing loss measurement approaches across contexts.
Matrimonial and Business Fraud and Deterrence (24% combined)
- Focus on matter-based reasoning and applied scenarios.
Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring plus Digital Forensics (20% combined)
- Give extra time to whichever domain is furthest from your day-to-day work.
Full-length timed practice
- Simulate 400 questions in five hours and review misses by domain.
For a broader preparation framework and practice-question strategy, pair this timeline with the MAFF Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt. When you're ready to test yourself against realistic questions, the MAFF practice tests let you drill by domain and simulate exam pacing.
Timing Rules That Shape Your Training Window
Training and scheduling interact more than most candidates expect. Under the handbook policies:
- You have two months after application approval or after completing optional NACVA training to sit for the exam.
- Paid monthly extensions are permitted for up to ten additional months.
- MAFF permits at most three attempts per year and no more than one per month. A retest fee applies, though its amount is unverified.
The practical takeaway is that you should not finish training and then drift. The two-month clock starts when approval or training completion occurs, so book your sitting with a realistic preparation plan in mind. Extensions exist but cost money, and the attempt limits mean you cannot treat the first sitting as a casual trial run. Scheduling details are covered in MAFF Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Application mechanics worth knowing
NACVA's certification pages list USD 625 for the standalone exam. Applying for the designation adds a one-time USD 100 application fee and requires a CV or resume and eligibility evidence. References are two business plus two professional, reduced to two total when an additional qualifying financial credential is documented. Membership is optional, but active status requires annual dues or a nonmember credential administration fee. A complete current nonmember fee total is not established in the public sources, so confirm current figures directly with NACVA before budgeting.
After Training: Candidate Status, Recertification, and Careers
MAFF Candidate status
One of the most useful policy details for trainees is that you can sit for the exam before completing the advanced requirement. Under MAFF Candidate status, successful examinees who are missing the advanced requirement have up to three years to complete it. They must use the MAFF Candidate title and comply with recertification. If the requirement is not documented within three years, the designation entitlement ends. In practice, this means training and case experience can continue after you pass, but the deadline is firm.
Recertification and ongoing training
Training does not end with the credential. Current recertification requires 60 applicable CPE hours, an attestation, and a USD 400 fee per three-year cycle, due December 31. Completing 15 to 29 hours of NACVA courses offsets USD 200, and at least 30 hours offsets the full USD 400. Annual credential and membership fees remain separate. Keep supporting records for three years after the reporting cycle, since compliance is subject to audit. The earlier bonus-point and recommended-course program ended December 31, 2025, and older 36-hour descriptions are not current.
Is the investment worth it?
Between training, exam, application, and ongoing fees, MAFF is a meaningful commitment. The credential's niche is litigation-facing financial work, so its value depends on whether your practice involves damages, valuation in disputes, fraud, matrimonial, bankruptcy, or digital evidence. NACVA's FAQ reports 421 MAFFs as of 2025, which signals a small, specialized community. For the financial case, see Is the MAFF Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026, and for roles that use the credential, see MAFF Jobs. Earnings context is in the MAFF Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis.
What the published outcomes say about preparation
NACVA's FAQ publishes annual examinee counts: 2025 had 19 of 21 pass (90.5%), 2024 had 17 of 19 (89.5%), 2023 had 22 of 25 (88.0%), and 2022 had 15 of 20 (75.0%). The percentages are calculated from the published counts and are not first-attempt rates. These cohorts are very small, so a single candidate shifts the percentage noticeably, and no 2026 outcome is provided. The same page says about 20% fail on average without defining the averaging period. Read these as signs that well-prepared candidates generally succeed, not as guarantees. More on interpreting the numbers is in MAFF Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
Key Takeaway
Decide first which gate you're training for. If you need to satisfy advanced eligibility, choose among the four named routes. If you already qualify, put your money and time into blueprint-aligned practice for all eight domains. Then use the final week for a full 400-question timed simulation, and keep a one-page recap handy, such as the MAFF Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. Advanced eligibility can be met through 50 hours of applicable FFBOK training, NACVA's five-day Foundations course, 20 qualifying financial-forensics matters, or 2,000 business-valuation hours including 500 in relevant specialties. NACVA training is optional, though it can start the two-month window for sitting the exam.
It is a five-day program worth 45 CPE hours, with the exam included. NACVA lists it at USD 3,523 for members and USD 3,915 for nonmembers before early-registration discounts. Because it is 45 CPE hours, it should not be described as 50 course hours, even though it is a named alternative to the 50-hour route.
Basic education and experience must be met before you sit. However, successful examinees who are missing the advanced requirement may use MAFF Candidate status and have up to three years to complete it, while complying with recertification. If it isn't documented within three years, the designation entitlement ends.
The exam has 400 multiple-choice questions and five testing hours, and it is closed book. NACVA does not disclose the scored versus unscored allocation, and it does not state that delivery is adaptive. Practicing at full length is the best way to build pacing and endurance.
No. The USD 495 electronic Q&A guide is a practice resource that awards no CPE, and its question count differs from the real exam length. The public Core Body of Knowledge remains the official source for exam content, so use paid resources alongside it. For a deeper definition of the credential itself, see What Is MAFF? and the MAFF Certification overview.