- The Short Answer: Master Analyst in Financial Forensics
- Who Issues the Credential and Who Decides
- What Each Word in the Title Signals
- Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
- What the Credential Covers: The Eight Exam Domains
- The Exam Behind the Name
- Who Can Earn the Designation
- Costs and Maintenance in Plain Terms
- Where the Designation Gets Used
- A Short Domain-Ordered Study Plan
- Frequently Asked Questions
- MAFF stands for Master Analyst in Financial Forensics, issued by the National Association of Certified Valuators and Analysts (NACVA).
- The Litigation Forensics Board (LFB) oversees certification decisions; the exam is 400 multiple-choice questions over five testing hours.
- The official blueprint has eight weighted domains: Foundations at 20%, five specialties at 12% each, and two at 10% each.
- Eligibility requires education, experience and separate advanced training or matter experience; candidate status allows up to three years to finish the...
The Short Answer: Master Analyst in Financial Forensics
MAFF stands for Master Analyst in Financial Forensics. It is a professional credential for practitioners who analyze financial information in disputes, investigations and litigation settings: damages, valuation conflicts, fraud, divorce, insolvency and digital evidence among them.
That sentence is the whole answer to the title question, but it is worth slowing down, because the letters M-A-F-F are shared by several unrelated credentials and organizations. Everything on this page, and everything on this site, refers only to the NACVA credential. If you want a broader orientation, our explainers on what MAFF is and the meaning of MAFF cover the same ground from different angles, and the what does MAFF mean companion piece is a good quick read if you only need the definition.
Who Issues the Credential and Who Decides
The issuer is the National Association of Certified Valuators and Analysts (NACVA). Within NACVA, the Litigation Forensics Board (LFB) oversees MAFF certification decisions. That distinction matters in practice: NACVA administers the program and publishes the materials, but certification outcomes and the passing standard sit with the LFB.
The LFB uses a criterion-referenced passing standard. In plain terms, you are measured against a defined level of competence rather than against other test takers, and no numeric cut score is published. If you want the practical implications, see our breakdown of the MAFF passing score.
What Each Word in the Title Signals
Master
The word "Master" in the designation reflects the credential's positioning as an advanced designation. It is not an academic degree, and it should not be described as one. Think of it the way you would think of any professional designation: a signal of tested knowledge plus documented experience.
Analyst
"Analyst" points to the work itself. MAFF holders are expected to analyze, quantify and explain financial evidence rather than merely prepare it. The exam blueprint reflects this, with its heavy emphasis on foundations such as the analytical framework and then on discrete specialty areas where analysis is applied.
Financial Forensics
Financial forensics is the use of accounting, finance and investigative methods to answer questions that will be examined by courts, arbitrators, mediators or opposing experts. The credential's name tells you the arena: disputes, not routine financial reporting.
Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
Search for "MAFF" and you may find results about entirely different credentials and institutions that happen to share the same four letters. This is a naming collision, nothing more. The practical rule is simple: if a page does not mention NACVA, the Litigation Forensics Board or financial forensics, it is almost certainly about something else, and its fees, exam dates and pass statistics do not apply to this credential.
This is why exact naming matters when you research. Use the full title, "Master Analyst in Financial Forensics," when you search, when you contact employers and when you list the designation on a resume. Our pages on what MAFF stands for and what a MAFF is reinforce the same point.
What the Credential Covers: The Eight Exam Domains
The official source for exam content is NACVA's Core Body of Knowledge for Master Analyst in Financial Forensics (MAFF), revised September 5, 2023. It is a public, 12-page outline, and it is split into two parts. Percentages total 100% and describe the weighted examination headings, which are official exam objectives rather than a recommended study allocation. For a deeper walk-through, read our complete guide to all eight MAFF content areas.
| Domain | Part | Weight |
|---|---|---|
| Foundations of Financial Forensics | Part I | 20% |
| Commercial and Personal Damages | Part II: Specialty Areas | 12% |
| Business and Intellectual Property Damages | Part II: Specialty Areas | 12% |
| Business Valuation in Litigation | Part II: Specialty Areas | 12% |
| Matrimonial | Part II: Specialty Areas | 12% |
| Business Fraud and Deterrence | Part II: Specialty Areas | 12% |
| Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring | Part II: Specialty Areas | 10% |
| Digital Forensics | Part II: Specialty Areas | 10% |
How to Read the Weights
Foundations is the single largest block at 20%, so it anchors the whole exam. The five 12% specialties together make up 60%, which means the bulk of the exam is specialty application. The two 10% specialties, Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring and Digital Forensics, are the lightest by weight but are still a combined 20% of the test.
Foundations of Financial Forensics (20%)
The conceptual core of the discipline. Candidates should be ready for questions about the role of the forensic professional, the framework in which engagements operate and the standards that govern the work.
- Understand the forensic engagement lifecycle from acceptance to testimony
- Know how the analyst's role differs from advocacy
- Be comfortable with the vocabulary shared across every specialty
Damages and Valuation Specialties (12% each)
Commercial and Personal Damages, Business and Intellectual Property Damages, and Business Valuation in Litigation all revolve around quantifying loss or value. Expect to reason about measurement approaches, assumptions and the difference between what happened and what would have happened.
- Distinguish personal from commercial loss frameworks
- Understand how intellectual property harm is measured differently from ordinary operating loss
- Connect valuation methods to the litigation setting in which they are used
Matrimonial and Business Fraud and Deterrence (12% each)
Two very different dispute contexts that both depend on tracing money and testing representations. Matrimonial work centers on the financial affairs of divorcing parties; fraud work centers on detection, investigation and the controls that deter misconduct.
- Know what typically needs to be identified, valued and divided in matrimonial matters
- Understand how fraud schemes are detected and how deterrence differs from detection
Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring and Digital Forensics (10% each)
Two specialties that sit at the edges of traditional accounting. One concerns financially distressed entities and the legal processes around them; the other concerns electronic evidence and how it is preserved and analyzed.
- Understand the analyst's role when a business cannot meet its obligations
- Appreciate the basics of handling and interpreting electronic evidence
The Exam Behind the Name
The administration source is the CVA and MAFF Candidate Handbook (June 2026). The key facts are below; for scheduling specifics, see our guide to MAFF exam dates and scheduling.
| Feature | Detail |
|---|---|
| Question count | 400 multiple-choice questions |
| Time | Five testing hours |
| Scored vs. unscored | Allocation not disclosed |
| Delivery | Kryterion test centers and live remote proctoring; computer or paper administration permitted in specified settings |
| Materials | Closed book; simple non-programmable calculator, one blank scratch sheet and a writing implement |
| Remote requirements | Government photo ID, external webcam, private room, room scan, live monitoring and recording |
| Break | One restroom break of up to five minutes; the timer keeps running |
| Results | Normally one to two weeks |
| Retake limits | At most three attempts per year, no more than one per month; retest fee applies |
Four hundred questions in five hours works out to well under a minute per item, so pacing is part of the challenge. Adaptive delivery is not stated in the handbook, so do not assume the exam adjusts to your performance. For a candid look at what that volume feels like, see how hard the MAFF exam is.
Who Can Earn the Designation
NACVA's "Qualifications for the MAFF" page lays out two layers of eligibility. Our dedicated MAFF requirements guide goes further, but here is the structure.
Basic Requirements (Must Be Met Before Sitting)
- Education: an accredited business-focused bachelor's degree or higher, an LFB-approved equivalent, or specified military or federal alternatives (MOS 35L/351L, GS-1811 or FLETC CITP). Military evidence must show one year per 1,000 required hours; government applicants generally need GS-12 or comparable status, or a supervisor-supported approved exception.
- Experience: at least 2,000 hours of relevant knowledge gained through education, publishing, research, teaching and/or work, or an approved active financial or accounting credential such as CPA, CVA, CFE, CFF or CFA.
Advanced Requirements
Separately, candidates must show one of the following:
- At least 50 hours of applicable training in the financial forensics body of knowledge
- NACVA's named five-day Foundations course
- 20 qualifying financial-forensics matters
- 2,000 business-valuation hours, including 500 in relevant specialties
A qualifying matter involves substantial services as the lead professional, typically at least 40 hours and a report. References are two business plus two professional, reduced to two in total when an additional qualifying financial credential is documented.
Key Takeaway
If you pass the exam but have not yet documented the advanced requirement, you can use MAFF Candidate status for up to three years while you finish it. You must comply with recertification during that time, and failing to document the requirement within three years ends your entitlement to the designation.
Costs and Maintenance in Plain Terms
Fees come from several NACVA pages, and they should not be added up carelessly. A full treatment is in our MAFF certification cost breakdown; the verified building blocks are these:
- Standalone exam: USD 625, with no separate member and nonmember exam rates listed
- Application fee: a one-time USD 100, with a CV or resume and eligibility evidence required
- Practitioner membership: USD 599 per 12 months; membership is optional, but active status requires either annual dues or a nonmember credential administration fee
- Older nonmember chart: an undated reestablishment chart lists a USD 499 annual nonmember designee fee, but its effective date is unverified, so treat a complete nonmember total as unconfirmed
Recertification
Once certified, you maintain the designation on a three-year cycle: 60 applicable CPE hours, an attestation and a USD 400 fee, due December 31. Completing 15 to 29 hours of NACVA courses offsets USD 200, and 30 or more hours offsets the full USD 400. Annual credential or membership fees remain separate. Keep supporting records for three years after the reporting cycle, because compliance is subject to audit.
Optional Preparation Products
| Product | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Foundations of Financial Forensics five-day program plus exam | USD 3,523 member / USD 3,915 nonmember (before early-registration discounts) | 45 CPE hours; named alternative to the general 50-hour training route |
| Self-study, training-only package | USD 1,499 | Does not include the exam |
| Self-study, full package | USD 2,599 | Includes the MAFF exam and Q&A guide |
| MAFF Exam Q&A Study Guide | USD 495 | Electronic; no CPE awarded |
Note the careful distinction: the Foundations course carries 45 CPE hours and counts as its own named eligibility route, not as a rewrite of the 50-hour general training option.
Where the Designation Gets Used
The public sources for this credential describe its content and requirements rather than listing employers, so any claim about hiring trends should be treated cautiously. What can be said with confidence comes from the blueprint itself: the eight domains describe the kinds of matters MAFF holders are trained to handle. These include commercial and personal damages, intellectual property harm, valuation disputes, divorces, fraud investigations, insolvencies and digital evidence.
That translates, in practice, to roles at forensic accounting and valuation firms, litigation support practices, and independent consulting or testifying-expert work. The qualifying-matter route, which counts lead-professional work with a report, hints at how central expert reporting is to the career. If you are weighing career upside, our pieces on MAFF jobs, the MAFF salary guide and whether the certification is worth it go deeper; this article deliberately avoids quoting earnings figures because none are verified here.
On credibility, NACVA's FAQ reports 421 MAFFs as of 2025, which tells you this is a small, specialized community rather than a mass-market designation. Published exam outcomes by year are small-cohort numbers: 2025, 19 of 21 passed; 2024, 17 of 19; 2023, 22 of 25; 2022, 15 of 20. Those percentages are calculated from the published counts rather than reported as first-attempt rates, and the FAQ separately says about 20% fail on average without defining the averaging period. For interpretation, read our MAFF pass rate analysis.
A Short Domain-Ordered Study Plan
Because the name tells you the credential is built on Foundations first and specialties second, the sensible order follows the blueprint rather than your personal comfort zone. The plan below is a sketch; our full MAFF study guide and the one-page MAFF cheat sheet expand on it, and you can pressure-test yourself on the MAFF practice test platform.
Foundations (20%)
- Read the public body of knowledge end to end before touching any specialty
- Build a glossary, since vocabulary recurs in every later domain
The 12% Specialties
- Pair Commercial and Personal Damages with Business and Intellectual Property Damages, since both quantify loss
- Study Business Valuation in Litigation next, while the damages logic is fresh
- Finish with Matrimonial and Business Fraud and Deterrence
The 10% Specialties
- Cover Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring and Digital Forensics; low weight, but unfamiliar topics are easy to underestimate
Pacing Practice
- Drill in long sets, since the real exam is 400 questions in five hours
The ordering rationale is the weighting: Foundations earns the first block because it is the largest domain and underpins everything else, while the lighter-weighted specialties are scheduled last so they do not crowd out the heavier material.
Frequently Asked Questions
MAFF stands for Master Analyst in Financial Forensics, a credential issued by the National Association of Certified Valuators and Analysts (NACVA). Certification decisions are overseen by the Litigation Forensics Board.
No. Several unrelated credentials and organizations share the acronym. Confirm that any source you rely on names NACVA and Master Analyst in Financial Forensics before using its fees, dates or statistics.
The exam has 400 multiple-choice questions and runs five testing hours. It is closed book, and NACVA does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored.
Eight weighted domains: Foundations of Financial Forensics (20%); Commercial and Personal Damages, Business and Intellectual Property Damages, Business Valuation in Litigation, Matrimonial, and Business Fraud and Deterrence (12% each); and Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring and Digital Forensics (10% each).
Basic education and experience must be met before you sit. If you pass but still lack the advanced requirement, MAFF Candidate status gives you up to three years to document it, subject to recertification rules.
Recertify every three years with 60 applicable CPE hours, an attestation and a USD 400 fee due December 31, with NACVA coursework able to offset part or all of that fee. Annual credential or membership fees are separate, and records must be kept for audit.