- The Short Answer: What MAFF Means
- Reading the Title Word by Word
- Who Issues the Credential
- What the Letters Promise: The Eight Exam Domains
- How the Credential Is Tested
- What It Takes to Earn the Letters
- Fee Mechanics Behind the Designation
- Keeping the Designation Active
- Who Uses the Designation and Where
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
- Frequently Asked Questions
- MAFF stands for Master Analyst in Financial Forensics, a credential issued by NACVA.
- The exam has 400 multiple-choice questions over five testing hours, closed book, in eight weighted domains.
- Foundations of Financial Forensics carries 20%; five specialties carry 12% each; two carry 10% each.
- The standalone exam is listed at USD 625, plus a one-time USD 100 application fee.
The Short Answer: What MAFF Means
In the context of this site, MAFF means Master Analyst in Financial Forensics. It is a professional credential for practitioners who apply financial analysis to disputes, investigations and litigation: quantifying damages, valuing businesses in legal settings, tracing fraud, supporting divorce proceedings, working through insolvency and handling digital evidence.
The acronym is also used elsewhere in the wider world for unrelated things, so it pays to be precise. Everything on maffexam.com, and in this article, concerns the NACVA-issued Master Analyst in Financial Forensics designation and nothing else. If you want shorter explainers on the same question, see What Does MAFF Stand For? and What Does MAFF Mean?. For the broader overview, start with What Is MAFF Certification?
Reading the Title Word by Word
Each word in the title signals something about the credential's intent.
- Master: positions the designation as an advanced credential rather than an entry-level one. Candidates must already hold relevant education and experience before they can sit for the exam.
- Analyst: the work is analytical. A MAFF is expected to build and defend quantitative conclusions, not merely collect documents.
- Financial Forensics: the application of financial and accounting analysis to matters that may end up in court, arbitration, mediation or regulatory review.
That last phrase is the key to understanding what you will be tested on. "Forensic" here is not limited to fraud. The exam blueprint spans damages, valuation in litigation, matrimonial work, bankruptcy and digital forensics alongside fraud and deterrence.
Who Issues the Credential
The credential is issued by the National Association of Certified Valuators and Analysts (NACVA). Certification decisions are overseen by the Litigation Forensics Board (LFB), which sets the passing standard and approves eligibility questions such as education equivalents and exceptions.
The LFB uses a criterion-referenced passing standard. That means you are measured against a defined competency bar rather than against other candidates. NACVA does not publish a numeric cut score, so any article claiming an exact percentage required to pass is guessing. Our MAFF Passing Score article covers what is and is not known.
The official content source is NACVA's Core Body of Knowledge for Master Analyst in Financial Forensics (MAFF), revised September 5, 2023. It is a 12-page public outline, and it is the document your preparation should be anchored to.
What the Letters Promise: The Eight Exam Domains
The blueprint divides into two parts. Part I covers the foundations that apply to every engagement. Part II covers specialty areas. Percentages below are official exam weightings and total 100%.
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| Part I: Foundations of Financial Forensics | 20% |
| Part II: Specialty Areas-Commercial and Personal Damages | 12% |
| Part II: Specialty Areas-Business and Intellectual Property Damages | 12% |
| Part II: Specialty Areas-Business Valuation in Litigation | 12% |
| Part II: Specialty Areas-Matrimonial | 12% |
| Part II: Specialty Areas-Business Fraud and Deterrence | 12% |
| Part II: Specialty Areas-Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring | 10% |
| Part II: Specialty Areas-Digital Forensics | 10% |
For a deeper domain-by-domain walkthrough, see MAFF Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 8 Content Areas. Here is what the weightings imply about what the credential actually means in practice.
Foundations of Financial Forensics (20%)
The largest single domain, and the one that applies to every engagement regardless of specialty.
- It is the shared vocabulary of the profession, so expect it to underpin questions across the specialties.
- At 20%, it is worth more than any individual specialty, so neglecting it is the costliest mistake available.
Damages: Commercial and Personal, and Business and Intellectual Property
Two of the five 12% specialties are damages domains, which together make up 24% of the exam.
- These test the quantification side of the work: measuring loss for individuals and for businesses, including intellectual property matters.
- Candidates should be comfortable distinguishing the personal-injury style of analysis from the commercial-loss style.
Business Valuation in Litigation (12%)
Valuation applied inside a dispute rather than for a transaction or tax filing.
- This is the bridge domain for candidates coming from the valuation world, where the credential's issuer is best known.
- Litigation context changes how assumptions, standards of value and defensibility are handled.
Matrimonial (12%)
Financial analysis in divorce and related family-law matters, a distinct practice area with its own issues around income, lifestyle and the marital estate.
Business Fraud and Deterrence (12%)
The fraud-facing domain. The word "Deterrence" signals that controls and prevention sit alongside investigation in scope.
Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring (10%) and Digital Forensics (10%)
The two lightest domains, each worth 10%. Lighter weighting does not mean skippable: at 400 questions, 10% is a substantial block of items, and digital forensics in particular is a topic where accountants often have the thinnest background.
How the Credential Is Tested
The MAFF exam is a 400-question multiple-choice test with five hours of testing time. NACVA does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored, and adaptive delivery is not stated. Results normally arrive in one to two weeks.
- Closed book: only a simple non-programmable calculator, one blank scratch sheet and a writing implement are allowed.
- Delivery options: Kryterion supplies test-center and live remote-proctored delivery; NACVA also permits computer or paper administrations in specified settings.
- Remote requirements: government photo ID, an external webcam, a private room, a room scan, and live monitoring and recording.
- Breaks: one restroom break of up to five minutes is allowed, and the exam timer keeps running.
Do the arithmetic: 400 questions in five hours leaves well under a minute per question on average. The format rewards recognition and fast, confident judgment across a wide body of knowledge rather than slow derivation. That is why breadth across all eight domains matters more than deep mastery of any single one. Our difficulty guide unpacks what that pacing feels like in practice.
What It Takes to Earn the Letters
Meaning, for a credential, is partly about who is allowed to hold it. MAFF eligibility has a basic tier that must be satisfied before you sit and an advanced tier that can be completed afterward under a candidate status. The full detail is in MAFF Requirements; the outline is below.
Basic requirements (before sitting)
- Education: an accredited business-focused bachelor's degree or higher, an LFB-approved equivalent, or specified military or federal alternatives (MOS 35L/351L, GS-1811 or FLETC CITP). Military evidence must show one year per 1,000 required hours, and government applicants generally need GS-12 or comparable status, or a supervisor-supported approved exception.
- Experience: at least 2,000 hours of relevant knowledge through education, publishing, research, teaching and/or work, or an approved active financial or accounting credential such as CPA, CVA, CFE, CFF or CFA.
Advanced requirements
Candidates must show one of the following:
- at least 50 hours of applicable FFBOK training;
- NACVA's named five-day Foundations course;
- 20 qualifying financial-forensics matters; or
- 2,000 business-valuation hours, including 500 in relevant specialties.
A qualifying matter involves substantial services as lead professional, typically at least 40 hours and a report. References are two business plus two professional, reduced to two total when an additional qualifying financial credential is documented.
Key Takeaway
Successful examinees who are missing the advanced requirement can use MAFF Candidate status and have up to three years to document it, while complying with recertification. Failing to document it within three years ends the designation entitlement, so treat the deadline as real.
Note that the case-study requirements associated with NACVA's CVA credential do not apply to MAFF.
Fee Mechanics Behind the Designation
Several separate charges are involved, and they should not be confused or double-counted.
| Item | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Standalone MAFF exam | USD 625 | No separate member/nonmember exam rates listed |
| Designation application | USD 100 | One-time; requires CV/resume and eligibility evidence |
| Practitioner membership | USD 599 per 12 months | Optional, but active status requires annual dues or a nonmember credential fee |
| Nonmember MAFF designee fee | USD 499 annually | From an undated reestablishment chart; effective date unverified |
| Foundations five-day course plus exam | USD 3,523 member / USD 3,915 nonmember | Before early-registration discounts; 45 CPE hours |
| MAFF Exam Q&A Study Guide | USD 495 | Electronic; no CPE |
A complete current nonmember fee total is not established from the public sources, so beware any article that gives you a single confident all-in number. NACVA also offers self-study packages at USD 1,499 (training only) and USD 2,599 (full package including the exam and Q&A guide). The MAFF Certification Cost breakdown walks through the scenarios in more detail.
One scheduling rule worth knowing: candidates have two months after application approval or optional NACVA training completion to sit for the exam, with paid monthly extensions available for up to ten additional months. See MAFF Exam Dates for scheduling logistics.
Keeping the Designation Active
Holding the letters is an ongoing commitment. Current recertification requires:
- 60 applicable CPE hours per three-year cycle;
- an attestation;
- a USD 400 fee per cycle, due December 31.
The first cycle begins with the first full calendar year after certification. Completing 15 to 29 hours of NACVA courses offsets USD 200 of the fee, and 30 or more hours offsets the full USD 400. Annual credential or membership fees remain separate. Keep supporting records for three years after the reporting cycle, because compliance is subject to audit. Older descriptions involving 36 hours or bonus points are not current; the former bonus-point program ended December 31, 2025.
Who Uses the Designation and Where
MAFF is a practitioner credential for people whose work touches disputes. Typical holders include:
- forensic accountants and litigation consultants who serve as testifying or consulting experts;
- business valuation professionals extending into litigation support;
- CPAs, CFEs and CFFs adding a broader, cross-specialty credential;
- practitioners working matrimonial, bankruptcy or fraud engagements for law firms and their clients.
For realistic role types, read MAFF Jobs. For compensation, the MAFF Salary Guide discusses what can and cannot be said responsibly, and Is the MAFF Certification Worth It? frames the return question.
The credential is small and specialized. NACVA's FAQ reports 421 MAFFs as of 2025, and annual examinee cohorts are modest: 2025 saw 19 of 21 examinees pass (90.5%), 2024 saw 17 of 19 (89.5%), 2023 saw 22 of 25 (88.0%) and 2022 saw 15 of 20 (75.0%). These percentages are calculated from published counts, are not first-attempt rates, and come from small samples. The same FAQ says about 20% fail on average, without defining the averaging period. See MAFF Pass Rate for how to read those figures cautiously. Because the pool of holders is small, the designation can differentiate you, but it also means fewer peers and less public salary data.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
Because the blueprint is public, the most useful preparation approach is to let the weightings drive the order. A sensible sequence keeps Foundations first, since it underpins everything else, and places the least familiar specialty early rather than late. For most accountants, that means digital forensics; for most valuation specialists, matrimonial or fraud.
Foundations of Financial Forensics (20%)
- Work the entire Part I outline first; it feeds every specialty.
- Return to it at the end for a second pass.
Your weakest specialty
- Take whichever of the five 12% specialties or two 10% specialties you know least.
- Do not let its lower weighting tempt you to skip it.
Damages and valuation block
- Study Commercial and Personal Damages, Business and Intellectual Property Damages and Business Valuation in Litigation together; they share quantification logic.
Remaining specialties and timed mixed practice
- Cover Matrimonial, Business Fraud and Deterrence, Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring, and Digital Forensics.
- Finish with timed sets at roughly one question per 45 seconds to build exam pace.
For a fuller plan, see the MAFF Study Guide, and keep the MAFF Cheat Sheet handy for last-week review. If you are weighing formal courses, MAFF Training compares your options. To test yourself against exam-style questions, try the MAFF practice tests.
Frequently Asked Questions
On this site, MAFF stands for Master Analyst in Financial Forensics, a credential issued by the National Association of Certified Valuators and Analysts (NACVA) and overseen by its Litigation Forensics Board. See also What Is MAFF?
No. MAFF is a distinct NACVA credential. CPA, CVA, CFE, CFF and CFA are among the approved active credentials that can satisfy the basic experience requirement, but holding one does not make you a MAFF. You still must pass the exam and meet the remaining requirements.
The exam has 400 multiple-choice questions and five testing hours. NACVA does not disclose how many are scored versus unscored, and it does not state that the exam is adaptive.
Yes, with limits: at most three attempts per year and no more than one per month. A retest fee applies, though the amount was not verified. Check NACVA's current handbook before scheduling.
Not necessarily. Basic education and experience must be met before you sit, but successful examinees missing the advanced requirement may use MAFF Candidate status and have up to three years to complete it, subject to recertification compliance.