- The Short Answer: Master Analyst in Financial Forensics
- Who Issues the Credential and Who Decides
- What the Letters Signal to Employers and Courts
- What the Exam Covers: Eight Weighted Domains
- How the Exam Is Built and Delivered
- Eligibility Behind the Letters
- What Earning the Letters Costs
- Keeping the Designation Active
- What the Published Results Show
- Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain Weight
- Frequently Asked Questions
- MAFF stands for Master Analyst in Financial Forensics, issued by the National Association of Certified Valuators and Analysts (NACVA).
- The exam is 400 multiple-choice questions in five testing hours, closed book, across eight weighted domains.
- Foundations carries 20%; five specialties carry 12% each; Bankruptcy and Digital Forensics carry 10% each.
- The standalone exam fee is USD 625, plus a one-time USD 100 application fee.
The Short Answer: Master Analyst in Financial Forensics
MAFF stands for Master Analyst in Financial Forensics. It is a professional credential for practitioners who analyze financial information in disputes, investigations and litigation, and it is awarded through the National Association of Certified Valuators and Analysts (NACVA). If you have seen the letters after someone's name on an expert report, a CV or a LinkedIn profile, this is what they claim: that the person has met NACVA's education, experience and training requirements and passed a 400-question examination on financial forensics.
On this site, the acronym always refers to that specific credential. Other certifications and organizations use similar letter combinations, and mixing them up leads to wrong assumptions about fees, exam content and who grants the designation. Everything below describes the NACVA credential only. For the quick-reference versions of this question, see our short explainers on what MAFF stands for and what MAFF certification is.
Who Issues the Credential and Who Decides
NACVA is the issuing organization. Certification decisions are overseen by the Litigation Forensics Board (LFB), which sets the criterion-referenced passing standard and rules on whether an applicant's education, experience, training and references satisfy the requirements. "Criterion-referenced" means you are measured against a defined standard of competence rather than against other candidates. NACVA does not publish a numeric cut score, so any "you need X percent" claim you see online is not an official figure. Our page on the MAFF passing score explains what is and is not known.
The official statement of exam content is the NACVA document The Core Body of Knowledge for Master Analyst in Financial Forensics (MAFF), revised September 5, 2023. It is a 12-page public outline, and it is the document to anchor your preparation to. Exam administration details come from the June 2026 CVA and MAFF Candidate Handbook. Those two dates are different documents: the blueprint revision is 2023, while the handbook describing logistics is 2026.
What the Letters Signal to Employers and Courts
Financial forensics sits where accounting, valuation and law meet. The people who engage MAFF holders tend to be those who need numbers that can survive scrutiny:
- Litigation and forensic accounting practices that need damages, valuation or fraud analyses supported by a recognized credential.
- Attorneys retaining testifying or consulting experts for commercial disputes, divorces, bankruptcies and fraud matters.
- Accounting and advisory firms building a forensic or valuation service line.
- Internal audit, investigative and compliance teams handling fraud deterrence and detection.
- Government and military-background professionals moving into private-sector expert work; the eligibility rules include specific federal and military alternatives.
The credential does not guarantee engagements or a particular income, and we do not quote salary figures that NACVA does not publish. For a qualitative discussion of how the designation fits into career paths, see our MAFF jobs overview and the MAFF salary guide.
What the Exam Covers: Eight Weighted Domains
The content outline is split into Part I (Foundations) and Part II (Specialty Areas). The eight weighted headings below are the official examination objectives, and the percentages total 100%. They describe how exam content is distributed, not how you must divide your study hours. A longer walkthrough is in our complete guide to all eight MAFF domains.
| Domain | Official Heading | Weight |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Part I: Foundations of Financial Forensics | 20% |
| 2 | Part II: Specialty Areas-Commercial and Personal Damages | 12% |
| 3 | Part II: Specialty Areas-Business and Intellectual Property Damages | 12% |
| 4 | Part II: Specialty Areas-Business Valuation in Litigation | 12% |
| 5 | Part II: Specialty Areas-Matrimonial | 12% |
| 6 | Part II: Specialty Areas-Business Fraud and Deterrence | 12% |
| 7 | Part II: Specialty Areas-Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring | 10% |
| 8 | Part II: Specialty Areas-Digital Forensics | 10% |
Foundations of Financial Forensics (20%)
The largest single domain and the common thread through every specialty. It frames the role of the financial forensic professional and the principles that apply no matter which kind of matter you are working.
- Because it carries the heaviest weight, weakness here costs more than weakness in any one specialty.
- Foundations material is what makes specialty questions answerable; treat it as prerequisite knowledge.
The Five 12% Specialties
Commercial and Personal Damages, Business and Intellectual Property Damages, Business Valuation in Litigation, Matrimonial, and Business Fraud and Deterrence each carry equal weight.
- Two damages domains split personal/commercial losses from business/IP losses, so expect to distinguish between the two contexts.
- Business Valuation in Litigation applies valuation thinking inside an adversarial setting rather than a transactional one.
- Matrimonial and Business Fraud and Deterrence each stand on their own as separate scoring areas.
Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring (10%) and Digital Forensics (10%)
The two lighter-weighted domains. They are smaller but not optional, and Digital Forensics in particular may be unfamiliar to candidates from a purely accounting background.
- Candidates with valuation or accounting backgrounds should plan extra time for Digital Forensics vocabulary.
- Bankruptcy and restructuring concepts reward familiarity with the insolvency context in which financial analyses are used.
One detail worth knowing: NACVA also maintains a separate nine-specialty list used for eligibility and training purposes. That list is not the exam blueprint. When you are preparing for the test, use the eight-section outline above.
How the Exam Is Built and Delivered
The examination is 400 multiple-choice questions with five testing hours. That works out to under a minute and a half per question on average, so pacing matters as much as knowledge. NACVA does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored, and adaptive delivery is not stated.
- Closed book. No reference materials.
- Permitted items: a simple non-programmable calculator, one blank scratch sheet and a writing implement.
- Delivery: Kryterion supplies test-center and live remote-proctored delivery; NACVA also permits computer or paper administrations in specified settings.
- Remote requirements: government photo ID, an external webcam, a private room, a room scan and live monitoring and recording.
- Breaks: one restroom break of up to five minutes, and the exam timer keeps running.
- Results: normally one to two weeks.
If the format is your main worry, read how hard the MAFF exam really is, and practice working through long question sets under timed conditions with our MAFF practice tests.
Attempts and timing
MAFF allows at most three attempts per year and no more than one per month. A retest fee applies, though the amount is not verified here. After your application is approved, or after you complete optional NACVA training, you have two months to sit the exam. Paid monthly extensions are available for up to ten additional months. For scheduling mechanics, see MAFF exam dates and scheduling.
Eligibility Behind the Letters
The credential is not exam-only. You must satisfy education, experience, advanced-training and reference requirements, and the basic education and experience pieces must be met before you sit. The details are covered in MAFF requirements; here is the structure.
Basic education
An accredited business-focused bachelor's degree or higher, an LFB-approved equivalent, or specified military or federal alternatives: MOS 35L/351L, GS-1811 or FLETC CITP. Military evidence must show one year per 1,000 required hours, and government applicants generally need GS-12 or comparable status, or a supervisor-supported approved exception.
Basic experience
At least 2,000 hours of relevant knowledge through education, publishing, research, teaching and/or work, or an approved active financial or accounting credential such as CPA, CVA, CFE, CFF or CFA.
Advanced eligibility
Any one of the following:
- At least 50 hours of applicable FFBOK training;
- NACVA's named five-day Foundations course;
- 20 qualifying financial-forensics matters; or
- 2,000 business-valuation hours, including 500 in relevant specialties.
A qualifying matter involves substantial services as lead professional, typically at least 40 hours and a report. References are two business and two professional, reduced to two total when an additional qualifying financial credential is documented.
What Earning the Letters Costs
| Item | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Standalone exam | USD 625 | No separate member/nonmember exam rate listed |
| Application fee | USD 100 | One-time; requires CV/resume and eligibility evidence |
| Practitioner membership | USD 599 / 12 months | Optional, but active status requires annual dues or a nonmember administration fee |
| Nonmember annual designee fee | USD 499 | From an undated chart; effective date unverified |
| Foundations course + exam | USD 3,523 member / USD 3,915 nonmember | Five days, 45 CPE hours, before early-registration discounts |
| Full self-study package | USD 2,599 | Includes MAFF exam and Q&A guide |
| Training-only self-study | USD 1,499 | Does not include the exam |
| Q&A Study Guide | USD 495 | Electronic; no CPE |
Two cautions. First, a complete, current nonmember fee total is not established from the public sources, so do not add the nonmember figures together and assume the sum is official. Confirm directly with NACVA. Second, the 45-hour Foundations course is an explicit alternative to the general 50-hour training route; it is not a 50-hour course. A conditional USD 400 first-year Practitioner membership add-on exists with a qualifying Foundations package and does not replace the general USD 599 annual rate. Our MAFF certification cost breakdown and the ROI analysis go through the trade-offs.
Keeping the Designation Active
The letters are maintained, not permanent. Under current recertification rules:
- 60 applicable CPE hours per three-year cycle, with an attestation.
- A USD 400 recertification fee per cycle, due December 31.
- The first cycle begins with the first full calendar year after certification.
- Completing 15-29 hours of NACVA courses offsets USD 200; 30 or more hours offsets the full USD 400.
- Annual credential or membership fees remain separate.
- Keep supporting records for three years after the reporting cycle; compliance is subject to audit.
Attestation rules apply from 2025 onward. The former bonus-point and recommended-course program ended December 31, 2025, so older descriptions that mention 36 hours are not current. Inactive-status rules are published separately by NACVA.
What the Published Results Show
NACVA's FAQ reports annual pass counts. The percentages below are calculated from those counts; they are not published first-attempt rates.
| Year | Passed / Examinees | Calculated Rate |
|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 19 of 21 | 90.5% |
| 2024 | 17 of 19 | 89.5% |
| 2023 | 22 of 25 | 88.0% |
| 2022 | 15 of 20 | 75.0% |
The cohorts are very small, so a single candidate shifts the percentage noticeably. NACVA's FAQ also states that about 20% fail on average without defining the averaging period; that is a general statement, separate from any one year's cohort. No 2026 outcome is provided. The same page reports 421 MAFFs as of 2025, which shows how selective and specialized the community is. For interpretation, see what the MAFF pass-rate data shows.
Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
Searching the four letters alone can surface unrelated credentials and organizations. If a page quotes an exam fee, test length, domain list or pass rate that does not match the NACVA figures above, it is probably describing something else. Quick checks to confirm you are reading about the right credential:
- The issuer is NACVA, and decisions are overseen by the Litigation Forensics Board.
- The exam has 400 multiple-choice questions in five hours.
- The content has eight domains, led by Foundations of Financial Forensics at 20%.
- The standalone exam fee is USD 625.
For related plain-language entries, see what is MAFF, MAFF meaning and what is a MAFF, and for the overall credential page, MAFF certification.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain Weight
Because the exam spans eight domains with different weights, the order in which you study them is a real decision. This is one reasonable sequence for candidates with a typical accounting or valuation background; adjust it around your own weak spots. The full plan is in our MAFF study guide, and the MAFF cheat sheet is useful for a final review.
Foundations first
- Start with the 20% domain because every specialty builds on it.
- Read the official Body of Knowledge outline end to end before touching practice questions.
The two damages domains together
- Study Commercial and Personal Damages alongside Business and Intellectual Property Damages so you can contrast the contexts.
- Together they represent 24% of the exam.
Valuation, Matrimonial and Fraud
- Business Valuation in Litigation, Matrimonial, and Business Fraud and Deterrence are 12% each.
- Valuation-credentialed candidates may move faster through the first; fraud may need more time for others.
Bankruptcy and Digital Forensics, then full timed sets
- Cover the two 10% domains, giving extra vocabulary time to Digital Forensics if it is new to you.
- Finish with timed runs of long question sets to rehearse the 400-question, five-hour pace.
Key Takeaway
Anchor your preparation to NACVA's official eight-domain outline, not to paid guide descriptions or general forensic-accounting reading. Use practice questions to find gaps, then return to the blueprint to close them. Start with a timed set from our MAFF practice test to see where you stand.
Frequently Asked Questions
MAFF stands for Master Analyst in Financial Forensics, a credential issued through the National Association of Certified Valuators and Analysts (NACVA), with certification decisions overseen by the Litigation Forensics Board.
The exam has 400 multiple-choice questions and five testing hours. It is closed book, and NACVA does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored.
Foundations of Financial Forensics at 20%. Five specialties (Commercial and Personal Damages, Business and Intellectual Property Damages, Business Valuation in Litigation, Matrimonial, and Business Fraud and Deterrence) carry 12% each, and Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring and Digital Forensics carry 10% each.
The standalone exam is listed at USD 625, with a one-time USD 100 application fee. Membership, annual designee fees, optional training and retests are additional, and a complete nonmember total is not established from public sources.
Basic education and experience must be met before you sit. If you pass but lack the advanced requirement, MAFF Candidate status gives you up to three years to document it, after which the designation entitlement ends if it is not completed.
Every three-year cycle requires 60 applicable CPE hours, an attestation and a USD 400 fee due December 31, with partial or full offsets available for NACVA course hours. Keep records for three years after the reporting cycle in case of audit.